Phenomenal Woman by Maya Angelou

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size.
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me…

An excerpt from the poem “Phenomenal Woman” by Maya Angelou

Right here, Right Now

Cool wind blows in the darkness
Memories seep into my brain, out my pores
I remember you, on a night like this
A very long time ago
When the leaves started to fall
And their crunch got louder under our feet as we ran
All time seems to repeat
Like I had known you for hundreds of years
Autumn brings out reminiscence
Memories I have, we have, people have
Things we couldn’t have done
But they are in our heart and soul
Nostalgia for a time when never walked the Earth
But we could have, you and me,
For we ran like we were in Salem during the witch trials
We ran like we were in Philadelphia during the Revolution
We ran like we were in Victorian London
We ran like we were in Prohibition era Chicago
We ran like we were in 1950’s suburbia on our way to a school dance
We ran like we were going to Studio 54 in New York
We ran like we did last year, when we were trying to reach other before we had to say goodbye for a long time
We ran like yesterday, when we were reunited
We will run tomorrow in the same direction, toward the future, together,
We have been running since the dawn of time, in the fall, when the air gets cool and the leaves begin to crunch, and nostalgia sweeps over us like a big blanket in bed on the coldest night of autumn.

Right here, right now means noting, for time and space and the universe are not linear, at least not to me, it all seems to keep repeating itself on an endless loop, like our favorite song on the record player we listen to as we drink whiskey and make love on flannel sheets in the cool autumn air

Right here, right now, right here, right now….

Original Work: KH 09/12/13

What young people should do

What should young people do with their lives today? Many things, obviously. But the most daring thing is to create stable communities in which the terrible disease of loneliness can be cured.

-Kurt Vonnegut

I think this quote is incredibly true, we need to build strong communities and support each other. No one should ever feel like they’re completely alone.