You Are Never Alone

The beauty of this age
Of this crazy time
In which we live
Is no matter your despair
No matter your sadness
No matter how lonely you feel
You are never alone
There is always someone out there to hear you
To listen to you
To understand you
To care for you
To love you
You are never alone
The world is a great big place
It’s huge and seemingly endless
There are so many people
That are interested in you
And what you think
And what you have to say
They want to know about your feelings
They want to know your struggles
I want to know
I want to know everything
I want to care for you
I want to love you
I want to understand you
I want to listen to you
I care about you
And I care about your problems
You are never alone
Because I am always here
For you.

Original Work: KH 09/26/13

We Were Young

But Paris was a very old city and we were young and nothing was simple there, not even poverty, nor sudden money, nor the moonlight, nor right and wrong nor the breathing of someone who lay beside you in the moonlight.

― Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

The Only Thing Missing…

I love Fall because it feels
Mysterious
Ripe with possibility
Crisp
It happens slowly
Then all at once
I love the taste of apple cider
Swirled with rich caramel
Steaming in a mug
As I’m wrapped in a cozy sweater
The chill night air
Holding romantic notions
Of what might be around the dark corner
And nostalgia
Memories racing back
Clamoring for attention
In the special part of my mind
That holds beautiful thoughts
And wistful reminiscences
I dream of walking through evening
As dusk turns to twilight
And fades to black
Of hearing the leaves rustle
As the wind dances through them
I imagine wrapping my coat close to my body
As my cheeks flush from the icy air
The only thing missing
From all of autumn’s glorious moments

Is You.

Original Work: KH 09/26/13

Carried By The Wind

I took my fear
My doubts
My pain
My uncertainty
My anxiety
My sadness
My hopelessness
My negativity
The voice in my head that told me it couldn’t be done
All of the stress
All of the madness

I took all of these things and held them in my hands
Felt them crumble beneath my fingers and skin
And gently blew them away
And watched as their fragments carried off into the wind.

Original Work: KH 09/26/13