The Floorboards

The creaky floor
Of that pub
Our pub
Wood that has seen
So many years
So many feet have tread across it
So many drinks have been spilled onto it
The feet of Victorian melancholy
The men of the Great War coming home
Toasting to victory many years ago
After triumph
Dancing, singing, laughing
“Cheers!” still echoes through the place
So much noise lives inside the walls
And pint glasses
They may as well be breathing
And living with us
But those wood floors
Their creaks and cracks
Their discolored shade
From years of dance and drink
Cheering football clubs
And their wins
Mourning the loss of loved ones
Many wakes lived here too
And people’s tears mingled and mixed
With the booze as they seeped into
Those creaky wood floors
But to me
The sound I hear
When I walk across those floorboards
Is the leftover musings
Of lovers in a quiet place
The lovers whose feet met on these floors
The lovers who danced and loved and lived
On these floors
Who bought each other pints
And lit each other’s cigarettes
And kissed
And fought
And hugged
And the lovers whose hands could always find each other
In the chaos of the crowd
When I hear those floor boards creaks
I hear the lovers of yesteryear
And I wonder
If amongst the melody of lovers gone by
I may hear our love in there too
Our melancholy song
Playing on a loop
I hope our love lives in those floor boards
I like to walk one them every once in a while
Just to see if I can make out our memories
As the wood sings the tune of our forgotten love
But alas
The floors seem to sing another song
I wish I knew the words
Maybe one day our song will play…

Original Work: KH 8/13/14

Parisian Lights

The chaos reached fever pitch
Around midnight or soon after
The drinks were flowing
Fountains of liquor
Pouring everywhere
The music throbbing
The music shaking the floor
The windows
The walls
The rain had ceased
At least for a while
The dampness had carried into the bar
From the wet clothes and hair of all the Parisians
And Brits and Aussies and Germans and us
The Americans
The Americans in Paris
We found a certain joie de vivre
In an Irish Pub
Nestled in an alley
Amongst the narrow French side streets
We felt young
We felt alive
We felt invincible
We felt hungry for chances
We felt like we were flying
Our night, our experience, our time
Illuminated by the dazzling Parisian lights

Original Work: KH