Summer’s Finale

Along the path of summer
We do softly tread
As autumn makes her way to us
It fills my heart with dread
I want to remember you
In the sunshine and the summer air
The way your hands felt on my skin
How you put flowers in my hair
How we walked in the tall green grass
How we would lie in our empty field
I felt like everything was an illusion
And you were all that did seem real
I want to live in a summer moment
A breath of eternal life
It breathed
As the wind picked up
And began to blow
The flower petals through the trees
And summer ended
Sharply
Without a slow and drawn out fade
And I lost you all at once
To autumn’s sharp and cooling blade
But forever you do live
Inside my aching heart
Where summer is in infinite bloom
For your summer love I make my art
When I am filled with autumnal gloom
Next year I hope to find you
In the tall green grass
Of our empty field at last
The color to match your shining emerald eyes
Holding a crown of flowers
With blue to match our summer skies
And live wrapped in my golden hair
For another summer love affair.

Original Work: KH 8/19/2014