Amongst The Wildflowers

She walked amongst the wildflowers
And the tall, tall grass
And felt as though her mind couldn’t last
How everything felt like a living dream
Internally she did loudly scream
But on the outside she was calmly at peace
In the hopes the madness would not increase
Yet through this empty land she walked
With no living soul would she dare talk
But rather the voice inside her heart
Did sing its songs and make its art
The colours of her broken soul
Her mind sucked into a crushing black hole
Inside her madness reigned supreme
But outside she still remained serene
And through the tall, tall grass
And the wildflowers she did pass
And did lie down on the dirty ground
And felt the world spin round and round
Until all she saw was a shining star
And heard the haunting chords of his guitar.

Original Work: KH 8/20/14

Needle and Thread

Let me have your heart
I can hold it in my hands
I promise that I’ll be gentle
I won’t do any more damage
I want to take all of the pieces
Like a puzzle that hasn’t been completed
And find how they fit together
So you can finally move on
And love yourself
And love me too
Let me get my needle and thread
And sew those pieces back together
Your heart may be a patchwork
Of all the times it was broken before
And unfortunately a couple pieces are now missing
And they don’t all fit quite right anymore
It’s all so slightly imperfect
But if you give me a chance I can mend it just a bit
And I can make it myself
Your heart can be reassembled
If you’d just let me have a go
I’ll help you recover and heal
And open your heart to love that’s real
Please let me in
Inside your mind
Your soul and what makes you tick
So I can finally find a way to fix
Your melancholy heart
And shine some light
Into your eternally dark art.

Original Work: KH 8/20/14