Me and Her

Please
Oh Please
Save me from myself
And all the incarnations of me
That might appear
Save me from them
From her
And all her wild ways
You may see her wandering the streets of London
Or sitting at the bottom of a whiskey bottle
Or living in the chords of a guitar
Being played at a pub down the way
She may be wearing a hat
Or scarf
Or running naked through a field full of wildflowers
As the sun rises against the warming sky
Save me from me
From all the parts of me
That dance through the world
You may see her
Flying to the moon
Walking toward the horizon
Sinking with the sunset
Dancing through the stars
Stop that mad girl
From catching fire
As she lets the sun hold her in its arms
Save that girl trapped in the mirror
Whose green eyes
Mirror my own
Whose blonde hair flows in the summer breeze
And lives amongst the willow trees
Save yourselves
And her
And
Me.

Original Work: KH 8/31/14

One Day

But if one day

Just one day

Just for a moment

Just a second really

All of this made sense

And I understood why it had to happen

And why it all had to be like this

Why I was cursed

And blessed

And born such a mess

If the clarity I seek

Comes to me

Even if only for the blink of an eye

Then I will no longer cry

But rather hold my head up high

Finally exhale

Slowly

And let the feeling of peace

Wash over me

And fill my soul

With the light I seek.

Original Work: KH 8/30/14