A Little Bit More…

I always loved to wear
Your long t-shirt
The one that fell
To my knees
It had a few holes
But you liked it distressed
Your favorite band
Emblazoned on the chest
You always liked to pull at the seams
Moving it up my thighs from my knees
I guess if you came knocking
Pat my door
I pull up that t-shirt
Just a little bit more…

Original Work: KH 8/16/14

Marylebone Station

Those empty London streets
Echo your name
When everyone has turned in
And it’s just me
And the sound of my heels
On the old, time worn sidewalks
On my way to some place or another
I can’t even remember
Home I guess
It was late and my brain was foggy
Filled with memories of your lips and hands
Painted in a blurry haze of booze
And love songs pouring into my ears
Shuffle has a way of breaking hearts
Without even trying to
I stand alone
Just me and my outfit
I shouldn’t have bothered buying
A waste of money and time
Waiting for the tube to pull in
That gust of wind
Carrying your voice
I can hear it the sound of the machinery
I remember when you told me you loved
For the first time
Waiting in Marylebone station
I was so surprised I dropped my Oyster Card
You’d had a few pints
Felt brave, you said
I went to say I love you too
But was drowned out by the train
I said it louder just as everything got quiet
Some kids laughed
Because they were young
And didn’t understand yet
That to hear those three words
And say them back
For the first time
Is the greatest feeling in the world
Even when it happens in public
Waiting for the tube
In Marylebone
That ride home was long
All I wanted to be
Was in bed with you
That night still haunts my dreams
As does your favorite drink
When I hear another man order it at the pub
And every time I see a Stones tee shirt
I think of yours
I still play that song you love
The one you always played
As you took the Jubilee Line to work
I still root for Tottenham when they’re on TV
I used to prefer Liverpool
I take the Underground every day
But I avoid our station
And the Bakerloo Line
I don’t need to be reminded
Of everything I left behind
In the past
When I was happy
And you were here
Before you took that train
That never came back.

Original Work: KH 8/16/14